if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

My Daily Prayers and Readings for 5/04/2011

< >< My Prayer >< >

I don’t know if I have learned that much, or if am just aware of Your presence more often, but I do know when things break, go wrong, come up, that were not planned; I take it as a sign to stop and make sure I am connected to and with You, more often than the my old ways and the alternative of getting upset and aggravated, as I fight to overcome and catch up on that which is not even in my control. Under the sun we get so busy and so depend on being busy and the things that help us keep busy that we forget to or even feel guilty to stop being busy and just spend time with You; whether in prayer by just saying the Lord’s Prayer (Our Father) or reading or listening to a devotion or Bible verse, or listening my favorite Christian inspired music. It is not easy to let go of bad habits or of the false feelings of being busy, but stopping is better than the alternative, for in the end all the busyness and the things that we do, all will pass, yet the time spent with You is preparing us for that which will not pass; so where our time is better spent. Thank You for this awareness and lesson learned; at least this today.

Abba Father in the name of Christ Jesus who lives within me through the Holy Spirit I pray that You create in me a clean heart, and renew a right spirit within me, for my one walk in and with Jesus today. Asking that You bless me and mine in fulfillment of Your will and keep us from evil and pain; and if we get nothing else done this day, let us spend it loving You and others as You love us. In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, Amen.

< >< My Utmost for His Highest >< >

VICARIOUS INTERCESSION

“Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus.” Hebrews 10:19

Beware of imagining that intercession means bringing our personal sympathies into the presence of God and demanding that He does what we ask. Our approach to God is due entirely to the vicarious identification of our Lord with sin. We have “boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus.”

Spiritual stubbornness is the most effectual hindrance to intercession, because it is based on sympathy with that in ourselves and in others that we do not think needs atoning for. We have the notion that there are certain right and virtuous things in us which do not need to be based on the Atonement, and just in the domain of “stodge” that is produced by this idea we cannot intercede. We do not identify ourselves with God’s interests in others, we get petulant with God; we are always ready with our own ideas, and intercession becomes the glorification of our own natural sympathies. We have to realize that the identification of Jesus with sin means the radical alteration of all our sympathies. Vicarious intercession means that we deliberately substitute God’s interests in others for our natural sympathy with them.

Am I stubborn or substituted? Petted or perfect in my relationship to God? Sulky or spiritual? Determined to have my own way or determined to be identified with Him?

< >< Today in the Word Devotion >< >

The serpent was more crafty than any of the wild animals. Genesis 3:1

So much for the good old days. God’s creation has been misrepresenting His Word and His character since the earliest days of the earth’s existence. One simple lesson to take from this passage urges us to be very careful what we say about God and His Word and carefully scrutinize every such teaching. Erroneous statements about God can come from any source. Guard against it by staying rooted in the Word.

< >< Today’s Mass Readings >< >

Acts 5:17-26
Psalm 34:2-9
John 3:16-21

< >< Today’s Video Reflection >< >

Let us work hard every day at making progress toward God. If we are tested or tempted in our children or in our purses, let’s not panic but place our hope in God. We are Christians, and our homeland is not here. Like good children, let us turn our steps homeward, that our course may be approved and guided to its conclusion. Heal and open my eyes, Lord, that I may recognize Your will. Put to flight my foolishness that I may know You. — St. Augustine

< >< Today in the Word >< >

Revival: Before the RevivalListen now

Dr. Havner gives us the background and some history of revivals – Program Notes & Quotes

< >< Online Sources for Devotion Scripture References & Daily Mass Readings >< >

Link to Devotion Scriptures unless noted from New International Version BibleGateway.com

Links for today’s readings from USCCB using the New American Bible or

Links for today’s readings from EWTN using the Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition

For audio link to today’s readings from USCCB using the New American Bible click:

http://ccc.usccb.org/cccradio/NABPodcasts/11_05_04.mp3

For link to today’s video Reflection http://www.usccb.org/video/reflections.shtml

< >< Bible Online >< >

BibleGateway.com

just1word.com

YouVersion.com

< >< Other sources of inspiration on God’s Word >< >

Christianity – Faith in God and Jesus Christ

EWTN

Light Source – Christian Video Broadcasts and Ministry Television Online

Moody Ministries – From the Word to Life

Moody Radio Online

Sermon Index

Today in the Word Radio Online

Today in the Word

Today in the Word Devotional

< >< One Walk – Continuity in Change >< >

See what I’m thinking, listening and reading visit www.RichardAngulo.com follow me on Twitter @richardangulo     

See what I’m doing, visit www.raagroup.com follow me on Twitter @raagroup

Visit Catholics Come Home

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

